sleeping beauty

Brown Top, Ivory Vest & Khaki Shorts

Accessories

Brown Top, Ivory Vest & Khaki Shorts

Gold Leaf Earrings

Brown Top, Ivory Vest & Khaki Shorts

Beige Oxfords

brown v-neck tee :: Express; ivory slub vest :: Charlotte Russe; khaki shorts :: Aeropostale; scarf :: Charlotte Russe; cord belt :: Charlotte Russe; necklace :: Charlotte Russe; wooden bangle :: Charlotte Russe; earrings :: Forever 21; gold & pearl rings :: Forever 21; pink heart ring :: Hard Candy; men’s watch :: JC Penney; beige oxfords :: Qupid @ Forever Young; magazine :: June 2010 issue of Glamour

This is the outfit I wore on Thursday. I have a couple ideas for remixing it, and I plan to try them out soon. One plan involves a dark olive green cardigan instead of the vest, and possibly switching the khaki shorts out for some similarly colored pants. This remix idea would definitely be more cool-weather friendly, which seems to be more appropriate at the moment. I was excited to move to California because it was supposed to be warm here; so far we’ve only had a handful of days I could stand to wear shorts outside. I’m very disappointed in CA weather! At least it’s raining in Utah… I miss the rain, desperately. I was not made to live in a desert. I need something green. I think I’d like to move to Washington or Oregon sometime soon.

I am absolutely in love with these shoes and this vest… The vest is all over sized and comfy and soft and lovely, but lightweight enough to layer with it in the summer. I have a similar one in black that I adore – it looks amazing thrown over something white or gray. I’m loving vests right now, and I plan to pick up a few fitted ones very soon.

There is something seriously wrong with me. I went to sleep at about 5:00 a.m. Friday morning… and didn’t wake up until 1:00 a.m. on Saturday – 20 hours later. I was up for a few hours, then went back to sleep about 7:00 a.m. until 10:00 Saturday night! It’s now about 5:00 a.m. Sunday, and the really sad thing is, I feel like I could lay down and go back to sleep. I’m afraid that if I do go back to sleep, I’ll sleep through an entire day again… and that would really make John angry. So, I’m going to stay up, and tomorrow evening I’m going to be in bed by 10:00 p.m., at the absolute latest.

It may sound cheesy, but I have written a “Plan of Action” for myself for the next week. It includes a list of all the things I need to accomplish and the goals I have for myself. I’m going to keep track by writing myself a daily to do list and recording my progress and thoughts in my journal. Suzanne suggested something similar a few weeks ago, and I think that having goals for my day, and a way to see my productivity at the end of the day, will encourage me to get myself moving and get things done. Hopefully, it will also help to pull me out of my funk. I did go for a jog Thursday morning, and it made me feel tons better. I enjoy being physically active, it’s just a matter of motivating myself to get away from my computer. If it’s decently warm in the morning, I’m going to go for another jog. If not, I’m at least going to work out on the weights in the garage.

John has started referring to my cats as “Trail Mix”, because they follow me everywhere. And this is not a new phenomenon – they did it back in Salt Lake, too. My little sister says they’re only friendly when I’m around. People can say what they want about cats, but Vince and Lily definitely know who they belong to.

Me & Vince

Me & Vince

Oh yeah – don’t forget to enter my ThreadSence Giveaway! Deadline for entries is 11:59 p.m. Tuesday, May 25th!

About Jennifer

Single supermom, fashion nerd, beauty lover, writer/stylist & Cool Kid Extraordinaire. Best mommy to best daughter ever. Snapchat at us @momkumquat View all posts by Jennifer

3 responses to “sleeping beauty

  • Kimberellie

    This outfit wins my vote for look of the week. Totally I adore it. In fact, if I do a look of the week segment on my blog, can I put it up there with a link and all that? Because seriously, it is THAT cool.

    Also, all that sleeping is CRAZY! Maybe should you see a dr? Seriously, that is really really crazy.

    • fashion_nerd

      Thanks! šŸ™‚ And absolutely, you can put it up! That would be so cool šŸ™‚

      As far as the sleeping thing goes, I’m hoping it was just a temporary thing and I’ve gotten it all out of my system… I don’t have insurance right now, but if this is still going on when I finally get it I am def going to see a doctor. All of this sleeping is starting to drive me crazy!

  • Suzanne

    loving this outfit.

Leave a Reply

