my dream life & its wardrobe

Recently, a new friend of mine (Cafe Fashionista) posted a “what if…” post, describing what she would do with her life if she had no responsibilities and could do whatever she wanted, every single day, and invited her readers to do the same.The result, for me at least, was a lovely fantasy that I enjoyed so much I want to share it with you, and I hope, desperately, that one day I can turn it into a reality.

If I could do whatever I wanted every single day, I would go everywhere. I would wear tights, slouchy boots and a loose tunic top or shirt dress, belted at the waist, and carry a big boho bag filled with a camera, good books, treats, spiffy pens and an incredible leather journal.

If my life were mine, to do with as I please, I would wander the beach, stopping occasionally to read or to write; the next day I would explore the city and spend the afternoon sitting outside at a coffee shop, writing about all of the different people who pass by and imagining what their lives are like; I would go deep inside a mountain cave, touching the rocks and writing about what they must be thinking of the crazy human who’s intruded on their home; visit an ancient forest, where I would write about the trees and imagine what they must have seen in their hundreds of years of life.

If my life were mine, I would write, and imagine, and explore, and re-discover the wonder that is the world around us.

What I wouldn’t give to be able to do that…

My daily wear would consist of…

Espresso Cross Body Satchel $36.00

Espresso Cross Body Satchel $36.00, via ThreadSence.com

I would carry this purse with this coraly dress when wandering cities and towns in the South, going through places like Dallas and Nashville:

Embroidered Peasant Dress & Belt via Forever21.com

Embroidered Peasant Dress & Belt via Forever21.com

And with this white dress when wandering through the countryside, meadows and playing in fields of wildflowers:

Embroidered Woven Dress via Forever21.com

Embroidered Woven Dress via Forever21.com

I would wear these shoes with both dresses:

UnionBay LuLu Sandal via Alloy.com

UnionBay LuLu Sandal via Alloy.com

Or maybe these boots:

Don't Come Walking Boot via ModCloth.com

Don't Come Walking Boot via ModCloth.com

This is the jacket I would wear with these dresses on chilly days:

Blended Leatherette Jacket via Forever21.com

Blended Leatherette Jacket via Forever21.com

Edgy Chic Zippered Tote via Forever21.com

Edgy Chic Zippered Tote via Forever21.com

I would carry this black bag (above) with this little but comfy and cute black dress (below) while people watching in places like NYC and LA.

Mesh Tiered Hem Dress via Forever21.com

Mesh Tiered Hem Dress via Forever21.com

I would cinch my waist up with this belt when wearing my LBD:

Studded Waist Belt via Forever21.com

Studded Waist Belt via Forever21.com

On chilly days, I would pull on these tights (or simple, opaque black ones, depending on my mood) to keep my legs warm:

Glam Rock Tights via Forever21.com

Glam Rock Tights via Forever21.com

This is the jacket I would wear to ward off the cold:

Crinkled Faux Leather Jacket via Forever21.com

Crinkled Faux Leather Jacket via Forever21.com

And these are the shoes I would wear with my LBD:

UnionBay Success Sandal via Alloy.com

UnionBay Success Sandal via Alloy.com

This would be my beach outfit, layered over my swim suit:

H&M Romper, shoes, bangle & sunglasses, via HM.com

H&M Romper, shoes, bangle & sunglasses, via HM.com

This would be my hiking outfit, along with the satchel from the top of this list:

Camping Cutie Top via ModCloth.com

Camping Cutie Top via ModCloth.com

Cargo Shorts With Sash via Charlotte Russe.com

Cargo Shorts With Sash via Charlotte Russe.com

Lace-Up Military Boot via ThreadSence.com

Lace-Up Military Boot via ThreadSence.com

And this would be the journal I cart around with me, and write and draw and express my every single thought and emotion and impression in:

Genuine Leather Writer's Notebook via Amazon.com

Genuine Leather Writer's Notebook via Amazon.com

Pen & Ink Fountain Pen Sketch Set Fine Point via Amazon.com

Pen & Ink Fountain Pen Sketch Set Fine Point via Amazon.com

If my life were mine own to live, this would be my attire and my tools; everything I need. What I wouldn’t give to be so free…

What would you do with your life if you were completely, utterly free? Imagine your life completely without restraint, without boundaries or borders or responsibilities or obligations – I dare you. Who would you be? Tell me.

(P.S. Don’t forget enter my ThreadSence.com giveaway!)

About Jennifer

Single supermom, fashion nerd, beauty lover, writer/stylist & Cool Kid Extraordinaire. Best mommy to best daughter ever. Snapchat at us @momkumquat View all posts by Jennifer

3 responses to “my dream life & its wardrobe

Leave a Reply

