working

So I went for an interview at a staffing agency this morning and ended up temping as a receptionist this afternoon! Yay!

I’m typing this as I tend the front desk, and I gotta say, it’s kinda nice. Easy work, answering the phone and signing for packages… I could do this all day honestly. I’m so very glad I decided to do this. It’s nice to be out of the house and making some money. I almost can’t wait to get back to work. I’d forgotten how much I enjoy new jobs. It’s always a little scary at first, but I get the hang of things pretty quickly, and from there it’s fun and interesting.

Talked to an old friend last night. By old friend, I mean ex-boyfriend and would-have-been-father of my aborted pregnancy. That was four years ago. I’ve only seen him once since.

And I do miss him. I think about him, more than I would like to. He said he regrets having the abortion. That he sometimes dreams we had a little girl. He could be a welcome distraction from how horrible my life has become.

Or he could just add to the complications. Which do you think is more likely?

Tried talking to A about it. I was looking for a little loving support… what I got was a reminder that these are not my friends. They’re T’s. That’s how they started out, and I have a pretty good feeling that’s how they’ll end up as well. Getting a divorce would probably also mean losing most of my friends.

I think that’s the hardest part of the situation for me. Our closest friends are actually his. I have my own… but I don’t get to see them very often. I feel alienated from them, because of him. He gets angry when I talk about our relationship. But sometimes I need someone else to talk to. Sometimes I need support and objective¬†advice that he can’t give me.

*sighs*

Work day is over. Grocery shopping after this, then home. Hopefully T didn’t get stuck in traffic coming to pick me up. Cross your fingers for me!

About Jennifer

Single supermom, fashion nerd, beauty lover, writer/stylist & Cool Kid Extraordinaire. Best mommy to best daughter ever. Snapchat at us @momkumquat View all posts by Jennifer

Leave a Reply

