tarot design

Good morning, dear readers. Well, afternoon, actually. I guess this is what happens when you stay up until 5a.m. Happy Easter to those of you who celebrate the holiday.

My apartment is cold this morning 😦 it’s April – why the hell is it still snowing?!?

I had an idea this morning in my half-awake state. I want to design my own tarot deck.

I am participating in the Utah Maninni Three Tarot Project (http://www.technoharp.com/ManinniThree/index.html), put together by some local Pagan groups. Maninni is Italian for “many little hands.” Basically, it’s a community tarot deck. Everyone who signs up is assigned 1-3 cards to design using whatever medium they choose. I signed up to do three cards and was assigned Temperance, the Knight of Fires (Wands) and 3 of Earth (Pentacles).  I am really excited about the project and I’m really glad I chose to participate.

I think this project is what gave me the idea to do my own deck. I’ve already drawn quite a few of the Major Arcana cards in my study of the tarot. I find that drawing my own interpretation of the card helps me to understand it better. I think that drawing my own deck would provide me with a unique insight into the tarot that I would not otherwise have. I’m going to use blank 3×5 index cards for the cards, and I will hand draw each one using pens, pencil, colored pencils, watercolors and charcoal. Maybe I’ll get really ambitious and paint one or two of them. I’m not an amazing artist, but good enough for my own devices. I’ll post pictures of each card as I complete them. It will probably take me a long time to finish the deck, but it will be worth it. 🙂

I’m supposed to go out to Tooele today to see my mother… and probably T’s parents as well. Not particularly excited about that. I have a lot of other things I would rather be doing with my day, but unfortunately there is really no way to avoid it. Argh.

My breakfast consists of a can of Mountain Dew (170 cal) and 1 cup of dry Cheerios (110 cal).  So far today I have had 8oz of water and I weighed in at 133.8 this morning – I lost .6 lbs! Any loss is good loss. It’s a terrific start, considering that on Wednesday of last week I weighed 137.8 lbs. I want to be down to 129 by the end of the week.

Today’s food goals:
-Max 1500 calories
-Max 3 cans of soda
-Drink at least 64oz of water

I know that I can do this. Today feels like it’s going to be a good day for restricting. My stomach is still giving me trouble, and it’s always easier to avoid eating when my stomach feels like it’s tearing itself apart. I have barely even touched my Dew and Cheerios so far.

I’m going to work till 3:00, then I’m going to shower and get ready to go out to Tooele. I would much rather stay home all day and do my own things, but I do need to do some laundry (I do it at my mom’s house) and get some fresh air. I haven’t been out of the house in a few days. Maybe later tonight I’ll swing by the Walmart close to my house and see if the cute stock boy is there….

About Jennifer

Single supermom, fashion nerd, beauty lover, writer/stylist & Cool Kid Extraordinaire. Best mommy to best daughter ever. Snapchat at us @momkumquat View all posts by Jennifer

Leave a Reply

